5 Brilliant New Clarinet Works to Check Out!

Pianist Dena Kay Jones and ClarinetMike with composer Raymond Head after the World Premiere of his Small Voice of Calm at the Orfeo Music Festival 2018 in Vipiteno, Italy.

Here’s five super cool new clarinet works that would make excellent projects to work on during the coming weeks (or more) of being at home during the Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic. ClarinetMike says, “Check ’em out!”

1. Summer Sunrise on the Mississippi (clarinet and media) (2009) by Robert Fruehwald.

The sheet music and media accompaniment for Summer Sunrise are available for FREE from the composer here. Information on this work is available here.

2. Small Voice of Calm (clarinet and piano) (2018) by Raymond Head.

The sheet music and information on Small Voice of Calm is available here.

3. Filtrò poi una luce (clarinet and piano or media) (2011) by Andrea Ferrante.

The sheet music for Filtrò is available for FREE here. Here’s a blurb on it:

Filtrò poi una luce roughly translates as “filtering of the light.” In a Facebook message to me on the meaning of the title, Andrea said, “As when [in] the morning a ray of sun enters from the window of your room… softly.”

I have a special version for clarinet and media (as in the video above) that I helped cook up (with the composer’s permission). If you want a copy, let me know.

[NOTE: That is me performing above and on the other videos on this post. CD Baby or somebody has confused me with a bass-baritone at UCLA named Michael Dean – maybe we should do a concert together!]

4. September (clarinet and media) (2007) by Jeffrey Hoover.

The composer is making the sheet music and media accompaniment for September FREE during this time of pandemic. [Thanks Jeff!] Contact Jeffrey Hoover directly at jeffreyhoovercomposer@gmail.com or here. Here’s a blurb on the work:

Jeffrey Hoover says, “September has always been a month of change and transition – a time when nature embraces both summer and fall, and life unfolds in new ways for individuals and society. The music of September is set in two related and contrasting sections: music of thoughtful reflection and music of engaging the present. The sound and music of September posses an autumnal quality, while spanning the psychological and emotional gap between the sound of memories and the music of now.” September (for clarinet & media) by Jeffrey Hoover was commissioned by Michael Dean and appears on the CD, Desertscape: New Music For Clarinet.

5. Stuff: Theme with Seven Variations (clarinet alone) (2001) by James Grant.

The sheet music and information about Stuff are available here.

About ClarinetMike

American clarinetist MICHAEL DEAN performs and teaches internationally and across the USA to consistent praise such as "world-class clarinetist and pedagogue," "consummate performer," "inspirational," "outstanding teacher," "super," "brilliant performer," and "one of the best clinicians I have ever seen." His career is headlined by appearances at Carnegie Hall, ClarinetFest, NACWPI, Eastman School of Music, and Royal Northern College of Music with recent recitals and master classes in Canada, Italy, Spain, Kansas, Iowa, Missouri, Louisiana, and Texas. In July, he will again return to Vipiteno, Italy as Clarinet Artist Faculty in Residence at the international Orfeo Music Festival 2019. He is featured on 5 commercial CD's and on New Media, such as YouTube. He is currently preparing another new clarinet CD, Postcards from Silver Lake. Dr. Dean has given more than 500 clinics, master classes and performances at high schools, universities, conferences and other venues. For 11 years he was a clarinetist with the Paducah Symphony and he's also performed with the Southwest Symphony, Nevada Symphony, Abilene Philharmonic, Southeast Chamber Players, Red Mesa Trio, and Duo 35. His articles appear in journals such as Southwestern Musician, WINDPLAYER, NACWPI Journal and The Bandmasters' Review. As "ClarinetMike," he writes for his widely-viewed ClarinetMike Blog, the Internet’s #1 clarinet blog read in 150 countries on 6 continents: clarinetmike.wordpress.com. After a successful 25 years of teaching clarinet at the university level, he relocated to his native Texas due to family concerns. He is a past president and former National Board officer of the National Association of College Wind and Percussion Instructors (NACWPI). Dr. Michael Dean studied clarinet performance at Texas Tech University, University of Colorado at Boulder, University of Texas at Austin and University of Texas at Arlington. His teachers include Robert Walzel, Phil Aaholm, Carol Jessup, Jess Youngblood, and Bob Ackerman. His web page, clarinetmike.com, features video of his teaching and performing as well as information on his CD's and other publications. He is a BG France Performing Artist.
This entry was posted in All, ClarinetMike's Clarinet Teacher Tips, Orfeo Music Festival, Performance & Pedagogy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s